Defence Policy, Strategy  & Planning Division
Regulatory Framework
Types of Permit & Forms


  • National Conventional Arms Control Regulations, 2012
  • The Regulation of Foreign Military Assistance Act, No 15 of 1998
  • Prohibition of Mercenary Activities and Regulation of Certain Activities in Country of Armed Conflict Act, No 27 of 2006
  • Anti-Personnel Mines Prohibition Act, No 36 of 2003.

Responsible Authority

The authority responsible for the control over trade in conventional arms and rendering of foreign military assistance is the National Conventional Arms Control Committee (NCACC).

  • The NCACC is a statutory body that reports to Parliament and consists of Cabinet Ministers and Deputy Ministers.
  • No person may trade in conventional arms or render foreign military assistance unless that person is registered with the Directorate Conventional Arms Control (DCAC) and is in possession of a permit authorised by the Committee and issued by the DCAC. Permits are required for armaments development and manufacturing, marketing, contracting, exporting, importing or transferring (conveyance) of conventional arms, which includes; weapons, ammunitions, vessels (land, sea and air) designed for war, articles of war, and related systems, components, technologies, dual-use goods or services.
  • Applications for registration and permits are processed by the DCAC, which refers them to various departments for review. These reviews are considered by the Scrutiny Committee, which makes recommendations to the NCACC.

Procedural Responsibilities